2023 Citizen of the Year & Youth Achievement Award Winners

Theresa Glowasczewski

Citizen of the Year: Theresa Glowasczewski

Theresa Glowasczewski is affectionally known by many as “Theresa Glow.” A lifelong resident of Pine Island, Theresa has deep roots in the black dirt region. She has dedicated countless hours in support of her community and her Polish heritage.

Theresa is currently the president of the Orange County General Pulaski Committee. She is the treasurer of the Pine Island Seniors, treasurer of the Hudson Valley Polonaise Society and treasurer of the Ladies Auxiliary of the Polish Legion of American Veterans Post 16. Additionally, she is a member of the St. Stanislaus Rosary Society. Theresa is cheerful, helpful and, of course, an excellent “keeper of the books.”

Theresa is always volunteering, either preparing and serving food at an event for the PLAV Post, building a float for the annual Pulaski Day Parade in NYC or attending the Pine Island Seniors meetings. She is typically the first volunteer there and the last to leave. Theresa is always giving of her talents and does so in a very quiet and unassuming way.

Melani Ortiz Aguilar

Youth Achievement Recipient: Melani Ortiz Aguilar

Melani has been serving as a volunteer counselor and tutor for the Warwick Area Farm Worker Organization’s homework helper program. She is also a member of the Young Outstanding Latinas Organization at WAFO.

Matthew Morgiewicz

Youth Achievement Recipient: Matthew Morgiewicz

Matthew Morgiewicz’s high school guidance counselor describes him as a diligent and highly intelligent student, a young man of impeccable character and integrity, and an excellent leader who frequently engages in opportunities to help and serve others. Matthew has maintained a stellar 96.63 GPA, is a member of National Honor Society, National English Honor Society, Student Government Association and plays varsity golf. He is a peer tutor in STEM, a peer mentor for new student orientation days, and is currently the NHS Treasurer. Matthew is also a dedicated volunteer and outstanding citizen in his local community. He volunteers at The Warwick Hope Chest and plays an active role at St. Joseph’s and St. Stanislaus.

We are a better community because of people like you.

Thanks to Joseph Maggio our retiring treasurer and Janet Zimmerman who is stepping down from the board after many years of service. We are forever indebted to you for what you have done for our hamlet. Click here for photos of the event.

2022-2023 Board of Directors:
Officers: Susan McCosker, President; Nancy Scheinert, Vice President; Paul Ruszkiewicz, Treasurer; Gregory DeBuck, Secretary

Directors: Peter Artusa, Leonard M. DeBuck, John Redman, John Ruszkiewicz, Marsha Talbot